Abstract Art Photography: the visually delicious happy accident

Abstract by Twilight

Abstract by Twilight by Mrs. Terry.

This was my first Photo of the Day on another photographic website where I’ve been a member for almost 9 years. It’s the lighthouse at South Haven, MI taken on 9/10/01.

This wild abstract was accidental, as I was just starting to learn how to shoot low light shots with long exposures, as well as just having started to shoot slide film 4 days before. During this long exposure, I picked up my tripod and moved it. That wild array of yellow is the catwalk lights that went crazy with the movement. I have tried to get something equally wild ever since then on purpose and I might have come close to it with one I took of the Sky Train Bridge in Vancouver, but I still don’t think it’s quite as wild as this one is and at this point, I kind of doubt that I will ever get another quite as wild!

BTW, does the date sound familiar? It should be to most people in the U.S., as it was the evening before the 9/11 disaster.

Large size

Copyright 2001-2009 by Teresa M. Forrest – Photos by Terry

This is one of 30 matted and framed pieces that is on exhibit in the Pollard Memorial Library in Lowell, Massachusetts during January 2007.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

